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PSC Votes to Extend the COVID-19 Utility
Disconnection Moratorium

 
MADISON - On Thursday, the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin (PSC) voted
2-1 to stay a portion of its June 26 order to extend the moratorium on utility residential
customer disconnections and refusal of service for nonpayment until September 1. The
additional time will allow PSC staff to collect more data and information from utilities
on their disconnection plans, allow for comment from customer organizations, and
monitor further the spread of COVID-19 in the state. The move comes as COVID-19
positive cases in Wisconsin have more than doubled since the PSC met in June to order
the end of the moratorium.
 
"We continue to closely monitor COVID-19 and its impact on utility customers in
Wisconsin.  The data has shown that the coronavirus has ballooned since our discussion
on June 11," said PSC Chairperson, Rebecca Cameron Valcq.  "It is our obligation to
strike a balance to ensure the financial health of utilities, but also ensure customer
safeguards are in place.  It is our role to provide clarity to utilities, but be nimble enough
to press the pause button when it is in the public interest to do so. We must press the
pause button today on utility disconnections as the risk to public health is far greater
today than it was a month ago, while the financial impact to utilities has been minimal."
 
In light of the extension, the PSC is still strongly urging customers to seek a payment
plan with their utility or apply for energy assistance to avoid a large debt and possible
disconnection when the moratorium ends.
 
If customers are having difficulty paying their energy bills, they may be eligible for
assistance from the Wisconsin Home Energy Assistance Program (WHEAP).  To
determine eligibility or find out where to apply for assistance, go to
http://homeenergyplus.wi.gov/ or call 1-866-HEATWIS.
 
If customers cannot reach an agreement with their utility, they are urged to contact the
PSC by calling 1-800-225-7729, or by filing a complaint on the PSC website.
 
In June, the PSC voted to lift the temporary moratorium on utility disconnections for
nonpayment that was put in place in March, during the COVID-19 public health
emergency. However, the PSC required that a utility postpone disconnection for 21 days

mailto: matthew.sweeney@wisconsin.gov
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001xtbPcG9c5Lhn5rVGjW4jxiCdT6lhqFXp5AfZ0jFUFY51SGeeiU3_4UsBo83DCc3p0SwnnpD9DALn6Xst7FmRRjvp0s-S94d0YPq6T6D424nJKVFYBcfchiVpv8t_np1cDfjUYvdBZ4J7Xe4fr85Ow__QUeIUHpPDCshQ2uEYGRx6tedTegljGw==&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001xtbPcG9c5Lhn5rVGjW4jxiCdT6lhqFXp5AfZ0jFUFY51SGeeiU3_4Yzm2XaO-BSvg-0U17tkCQpeU4pdQ4bRWVIjJZDJ75tDz59yFumbV9n49VtoCadf1DGoRFBf38FoCWfOhG7Fuy-l8Z9H1eH8kGmST-7rCua_jHUXJIQMTAREMXACQhV-R6iUtaucVu4OBYdZGmVud7yBovesmyypqq-lkN7sH9qv&c=&ch=


where there is a positive COVID-19 test and up to an additional 21 days if the person is
still under quarantine following the original postponement.  
 
The PSC is continuing to monitor utilities' disconnection plans, payment plan terms, and
customer notices to ensure they conform to existing orders, administrative codes, and
state law. The Commissioners plan to meet on August 20 to discuss if further
modifications or extensions should be provided beyond September 1.
 
For information on the PSC's previous actions regarding utility disconnections for
COVID-19, click here. 

 
###

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001xtbPcG9c5Lhn5rVGjW4jxiCdT6lhqFXp5AfZ0jFUFY51SGeeiU3_4VzTeboiIYOBxbYhONL_Vr2pcEGPsJ0GMZK3BsQSIFqly3fH-5x8w2t3vRqLSH7vXIQUGWXNwBcCyFsqOpGmy9Q1ZLP1pdg6WaSV4_okCCJZi6Ci1g0X7MKozkksp93bmKVOlC7V9FlUl-C-J1477k0MhSwccjSD99S1j4l2kGBGj7Vr1_5Ec_WLfD1P3P8BhC6hdUOytfV9&c=&ch=

